surcharges & license restoration
In addition to the fines and penalties that are imposed by the municipal court judge during sentencing, drivers convicted of DWI or Refusal must pay additional monetary assessments, or surcharges.
Following a DUI and/or a Refusal conviction, drivers are responsible for two different types of surcharges.
Bergen County DUI lawyer
One set of fines must be paid to the State of New Jersey and the other set of fines must be paid to the driver's insurance company. Different insurance companies vary in the amount of fees that they assess their insured. The fees owed to the state of New Jersey are the same for everyone.
However, please know that under New Jersey law, when a motorist is convicted of both DUI/DWI and Refusal resulting from the same arrest, there is only one surcharge.
On a first and second offense, in addition to any fines and assessments set forth by the court, a driver convicted of DUI/DWI or Refusal must pay a total of $3,000.00 to the State of New Jersey over a period of three years.
On a third or more conviction, in addition to any fines and assessments set forth by the court, a driver convicted of DUI or Refusal must pay a total of $4,500.00 to the State over a period of three years.
This state surcharge requirement applies to all drivers convicted of DUI in New Jersey, including drivers who are licensed or live in another state.
DUI and Refusal cases are extremely complicated and the consequences may be devastating. Contact us and we will explain how everything works.
Where are surcharge notices mailed?
Surcharge notices are mailed to the last address on record with the Motor Vehicle Commission
(MVC). It is important that the convicted driver maintain a current mailing address with the MVC. If the convicted motorist moves, the law requires that you notify the Motor Vehicle Commission within seven days. Changing your address with the U.S. Postal Service does not change it with the MVC. You must contact the MVC directly:
Toll-free in NJ:
From out-of-state: (609)292-6500
MVC Change of Address
P.O. Box 016
Trenton, NJ 08666-0016
If the convicted driver moves from New Jersey, or if an out of state driver never lived in New Jersey, the driver is responsible for all surcharges assessed to him or her in New Jersey.
Failure to pay surcharges will result in suspension of New Jersey driving privileges.
For out of state licensed drivers, failure to pay surcharges will result in suspension of New Jersey driving privileges, and New Jersey will also notify the National Driver Register of the suspension. When the out of state driver goes to renew or get a new license in another state, the suspension will be picked up by the state licensing authority, and in all likelihood, the driving privileges will not be renewed until the “hold” on the driving privileges from New Jersey is resolved.
If New Jersey driving privileges are suspended for not making surcharge payments, the MVC will file a judgment against the driver to collect any unpaid assessments.
is there a surcharge hotline i can call?
Expect long wait times.
To obtain information about the surcharge program, or individual surcharges, call the surcharge hotline:
surcharge and general mVC phone numbers
Toll free in NJ: (888)486-3339
From out of state: (609)292-6500
License suspension and restoration information
does the mVC offer surcharge payment plans?
If you need to set up an installment payment plan (IPP) to pay your surcharges, call
Payment can also be made by major credit card, cash, check or money order.
Payment can be made by telephone:
Payment can also be made by mail by doing all of the following:
Send the bottom portion of your notice
Write your NJ driver license number on your check or money order
P.O. Box 4850
Trenton, NJ 08650-4850
If you don’t understand your surcharges, or have questions, please call
About the Author
Mr. Peyrouton is a Criminal Defense Attorney in Bergen County, NJ.